

July 8, 2025 Priscilla and Aquila, Coworkers of the Apostle Paul

Dear Beloved in Christ,

As we shared last week, the Standing Committee has the holy and canonical responsibility of overseeing the entire process of discernment and transition that will lead to the election of our next Bishop Diocesan, making sure the whole process is done properly and in good order.

We are already preparing ourselves for the electing convention to be held August or September 2026 with the consecration anticipated for January 2027.

Before then, there is much work to be done.

The Standing Committee will be establishing two important committees in order to help guide the diocese through a healthy, transparent, faithful, joyful, and prayerful process.

The *Search Committee* will be responsible for listening to the diocese in a structured way and then communicating our gifts and needs in the form of a diocesan profile; recruiting, receiving, and discerning nominations for bishop; and presenting a slate of candidates to the Standing Committee.

The *Transition Committee* will be responsible for welcoming and hosting candidates in the diocese, celebrating Bishop Bauerschmidt, and events surrounding the electing convention and ordination weekend.

For both committees, the time commitment is significant and time-intensive.

We will write again next week Tuesday, July 15, with many more details about what the work entails. The nomination/application period will also open then and will last for two weeks, closing on Monday, July 28.

We are confident that God has already been preparing the hearts of those with gifts for this work, just as God is preparing the one who will be called to walk among us as our next bishop.

Warmly, in Christ,

The Standing Committee of the Diocese of Tennessee

The Rev. Dr. David Barr (St. George's, Nashville)

The Rev. Michael Blaess, president (Redeemer, Shelbyville)

Mr. John Harvey (Grace, Spring Hill)

Mr. L. Jarod Pearson, secretary (St. Agnes', Cowan)

The Rev. Justin Taliaferro (Messiah, Pulaski)

The Rev. Canon Natalie Van Kirk (Good Shepherd, Brentwood)

Mr. John Whitaker (Christ Church Cathedral, Nashville)