About the Diocese

Serving Middle Tennessee Since 1829

The Diocese of Tennessee was organized and held its first convention in Nashville in 1829. While originally encompassing the entire state, it now comprises the Middle Tennessee region. The Diocese split into three (East, Middle, and West) as part of the vision to further develop the mission and ministry of the Episcopal Church along the lines of the three “Grand Divisions” of the state.

Today, the Diocese includes over 16,000 baptized members in 45 cathedral, parish, mission, and chaplaincy churches, as well as two mission stations and other affiliated ministries. It includes urban, suburban, and rural congregations alike.

The Diocese of Tennessee is part of the Episcopal Church, a member of the world-wide Anglican Communion.

The Vision of the Diocese


To the power of God. When we gather, we expect God to show up, and to do mighty things in our midst.


To the command of our Lord Jesus Christ, who said, “Go…and make disciples of all nations, baptizing…and teaching them” (Matt 28:19-20); and “Go…and proclaim the good news to the whole creation” (Mk 16:15).


To the needs of the world, because God created this world, and Jesus gave his life for it upon the cross.


To our life together as a Christian community for the sake of the life of the world.

Diocesan Governance

These are the councils and committees of the governance of the Diocese of Tennessee.

Committees of the Diocese of Tennessee

The members of the councils and committees of the Diocese of Tennessee serve selflessly to help the programs and business of the diocese run smoothly. The terms of most of the committees run from Annual Convention to the next convention. Some positions are elected by convention, some are appointed by the bishop.

Bishop and Council

Standing Committee

General Convention Deputies

Other Committees

Standing Committee on Constitution & Canons


Annual Convention

Officers of the Diocese

Chancellors of the Diocese

Jim Weatherly, Chancellor
Wendy Longmire, Vice Chancellor
David B. Herbert, Chancellor Emeritus
Gareth S. Aden, Chancellor Emeritus